Thursday, December 20, 2012

Ashta Lakshmi : Eight Forms of the Hindu Goddess Lakshmi

Anyone who requires more information may contact Mala Chandrashekhar at the Email Id :

( All images featured in this Blogpost are the property of their respective owners. Our deepest sense of gratitude to all of them for making this gigantic project a reality. If you see your picture anywhere in this Blog and don't want it here, send us a message with the details and the link to the picture, and we will remove it right away.)

Ashta Lakshmi, (Meaning "eight Lakshmis"), is a group of eight Hindu goddesses, secondary manifestations of Lakshmi, the Hindu Goddess of wealth. Ashta Lakshmi is goddess of eight sources of wealth.Wealth in the context of Ashta-Lakshmi means prosperity, good health, knowledge, strength, progeny, and power. The Ashta Lakshmis are always depicted and worshipped in a group in Hindu temples.

Given below are the eight goddesses of Ashta Lakshmi:

Adi Lakshmi : "Primeval Lakshmi" , an ancient form of Lakshmi and an incarnation of Lakshmi as daughter of sage Bhrigu.

Dhana Lakshmi : "Money Lakshmi" for money and gold.

Dhanya Lakshmi : "Lakshmi as goddess of grain": Giver of agricultural wealth.

Gaja Lakshmi : "Elephant Lakshmi": Giver of animal wealth, like cattle and elephants.

Santana Lakshmi : "Progeny Lakshmi": Bestower of offspring.

Veera Lakshmi  "Valourous Lakshmi" or Dhairya Lakshmi  or "Courage Lakshmi": Bestower of valour in battles and courage and strength for overcoming the difficulties in life.

Vijaya Lakshmi or Jaya Lakshmi "Victorious Lakshmi"  : Giver of victory, not only in battles but also in conquering hurdles in order to beget success.

Vidya Lakshmi : "Knowledge Lakshmi": the bestower of knowledge of all arts and sciences

No comments:

Post a Comment